The impact of Twitter

201202272132775775716-p2I planned on writing about something else this week, but I think I must talk about Twitter..yet again.  I was reading my daily news yesterday, and I stumbled upon an article that caught my eye.  Ironically I stumbled upon this article before the big Nascar crash that injured 28 fans yesterday.  A year ago their was an accident during the Daytona 500.  The track was on fire.  So what does any of this have to do with Twitter?

While all of the chaos was going on,  on the track, one of the drivers Brad Keselowski started tweeting pictures of what he was witnessing.  Well, according to the article in the Huffington post, he became a Twitter Phenomenon  http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2012/02/28/brad-keselowski-nascar-twitter_n_1305943.html  In a matter of hours, he gained over 100,000 viewers.  WHAT!!!!! Yes, that is the truth.  People were so curious as to what was going on, he instantly became a hot ticket.  Now drivers aren’t supposed to have phones in their car while driving, but it seems as if he didn’t care to out himself for breaking the rules.  After it was all done his fans even teased him about tweeting from the track. (see screenshots below)

Screen Shot 2013-02-24 at 9.13.33 AM     Screen Shot 2013-02-24 at 9.13.43 AM

I have seen the affects of Twitter, but this is the impact I have seen yet.  In hours he increased his followers by that magnitude.  Here I was excited about getting 100 new followers in one week.

When I started reading up on this event, I discovered Twitter received the Crunchie award for having the biggest social media impact last year.  For more on this view this article-http://techcrunch.com/2013/01/15/twitters-social-impact-cant-be-measured-but-it’s-the-pulse-of-the-planet/

So are you still deciding on whether you should give Twitter a try?  Do you have a Twitter account but don’t actively pursue getting new followers, and posting regular tweets.  Well, if I wasn’t sold before, I definitely would be after reading this post.  Well, if you are trying to boost your business up and get higher ranks on google, this chart below just goes to show you how actively tweeting can truly make your business more successful on the net.

tvr-rank1

WOW!!!! What could you possibly be waiting for?

Till next week-I am signing off.

CarriMac-

Likes and follower goals for my readers this week:

Follow me on twitter-@carribrown1

Follow my business on twitter-@shopbangdangle

Follow my son on twitter-@cameronbrown06

Like my sons Fanpage-https://www.facebook.com/cameronmbrownactor

Like my business Fanpage-https://www.facebook.com/shopbangdangle

and for non stop laughing-https://www.facebook.com/GeorgiaSweetBrown?ref=ts&fref=ts

#twitter #bradkeselowski

2 thoughts on “The impact of Twitter

  1. I think that was cool Brad Kelsowoski was able to kind of be a “news reporter” for real time. It just amazes me all the time how Twitter makes real life situation more relevant and really faster than the news acutally does.

  2. I’m totally with you that Twitter is a great platform to share info and news with other people. It also quickly grabs others’ attention as well. What do you think is the difference between Twitter and other social network platform that makes Twitter become so popular?

Leave a Reply

